Remembering and Reuniting: 2 Skinnee J’s – 930 Club Weds Aug. 6

When I first heard that 2 Skinnee J’s were doing a small reunion tour, I couldn’t believe it. Both my brother Doug and my roommate Kelly sent me emails seperate when the news came out. You see, the J’s were a massive part of my college experience. I used to love this band and although I haven’t listened to them in years, still do. They were the most fun college club show that came around once a semester and rocked our fucking socks off. I have seen them so many times I can’t even count. I mostly saw them at The Attic in Greenville, NC/East Carolina University but also saw them at the old Bayou in Georgetown (remember thtat spot?). Sure, their music can be cheesy and nonsensical, but thats what made them so damn fun. And most of their songs were hilarious.

Great songs like BBQ, You’re Champion, 212/718, Pluto, The Best, the list goes on and on. Man could they put on a show. From their outlandish and matching outfits to their manager/foundation A.J. Stumpy Johnson and their clever nicknames (Special J and J Guevera the frontmen), this band had it all. They had the whole rap-rock label going on (or nerdcore, whatever that is) but they were so much more than that. They were a damn good show giving a break to lame cover bands and shitty DJs at college parties.

If you were down with them back in the day, check them out at 9:30 Club Wednesday night August 6. Or this weekend in their hometown of NYC. Here’s their tour schedule:

Aug. 6 – 9:30 Club, Washington DC

Aug. 7 – Lincoln Theatre, Raleigh, NC

Aug. 8 – The Norva, Norfolk, VA

Aug. 9-10 – The Fillmore at Irving Plaza, NYC

One Response to “Remembering and Reuniting: 2 Skinnee J’s – 930 Club Weds Aug. 6”

  1. Dude, I was a big J’s fan too. Saw them open up for 311 at Tremont Music Hall in Clt a longg long time ago.

Leave a Reply

